
 

 

 

 STATE OF NEVADA 
COMMISSION ON MINERAL RESOURCES 

DIVISION OF MINERALS 
400 W. King Street, Suite 106 
Carson City, Nevada 89703 

(775) 684-7040    •    Fax (775) 684-7052 
http://minerals.nv.gov/ 

 
Las Vegas Office:  2030 E. Flamingo Rd. #220, Las Vegas, NV 89119 

Phone: (702) 486-4343; Fax: (702) 486-4345 

 

 
 

STEVE SISOLAK 
Governor 

   
RICHARD PERRY 

Administrator 

Dennis Bryan; Small-Scale Mining and Prospecting 
Mary Korpi; General Public 
Arthur Henderson; Oil and Gas 

Commission on Mineral Resources Nigel Bain; Large-Scale Mining 
Robert Felder; Exploration and Development 

  John H. Snow; Geothermal Resources Richard DeLong, Chairman; Large-Scale Mining 

 
Mining Claim Filing Requirements in Nevada as of 1/1/2019 

 

An annual filing must be made for each lode or placer claim and each mill or tunnel site with: 
 

 County Recorder 
U.S. Bureau of Land Management (BLM), 
Nevada State Office 

1 New Claims: Within 90 days after the date of 
location 

Within 90 days after the date of location 

 Claim 
Maintenance Fees 

File on or before November 1 of 
each year 

File on or before September 1 of each year 

 Annual 
Assessment Work 
(Proof of Labor) 

File on or before November 1 of 
each year 

File on or before December 30 of calendar 
year in which the assessment year ends. 

2 New Claims: Certificate of Location (for 
appropriate claim type) 
 AND 
Claim Map 

- Submit the forms filed with the County 
Recorder. 
- Call or write the BLM for total fees due. 

 Renewal with 
assessment work 
performed on the 
claim, then file: 

Affidavit of Annual Assessment 
Work 

BLM Affidavit of Annual Assessment Work 
Form 3830-4 
 AND 
BLM Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification 
Form 3830-2 (aka Small Miner Exemption) 

 Renewal with 
claim maintenance 
fees paid, then 
file: 

Affidavit and Notice of Intent to 
Hold Mining Claim(s) and Site(s) 

BLM Maintenance Fee Payment Form 3830-5 
or 3830-5a (depending on the claim type) or 
online at BLM Payment Portal: 
https://payp.blm.gov/eppcore/home   

3 URL for forms: http://minerals.nv.gov/Programs/Mi
ning/MiningClaims/   

https://www.blm.gov/services/electronic-forms 
then look under “Fluid and Solid Minerals, 
Mining Claims” section. 

4 Fees: Filing fees vary from:  
$14.00-$24.00(*) per claim/site 
plus $4.00-$7.00(*) per document  
 
Paid to the appropriate County 
Recorder. The Division of Minerals 
receives $10.00 per mining claim. 

New Claims Fee:  $155.00(*) plus processing 
and locations fees 
Claim Maintenance Fee:  
 $155.00(*) per load claim 
 $155.00(*) per 20 acres placer up to 160 
acres 
Other Forms: may have processing fees (*) 
 
Paid to the U.S. Bureau of Land Management, 
Nevada State Office 

Note 1: (*) Please check with the BLM and/or the appropriate recorder’s office for the current fee 
amounts charged. 

 

I. Copies of state laws (NRSs/NACs) and suggested forms are available at no charge from the 
Nevada Commission on Mineral Resources, Division of Minerals' offices or the Division's website 
(http://minerals.nv.gov/About/NAC_NRS/).  

II. Federal Requirements Information:  Contact the Public Room, Nevada State Office, U.S. Bureau 
of Land Management - Reno - (775) 861-6500 or visit the BLM Webpage, "Locatable Minerals - 
Hard Rock Mining: Mining Claims section" (https://www.blm.gov/programs/energy-and-
minerals/mining-and-minerals/locatable-minerals).  
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